Dear Diary,

I was so happy with my “Dirty White” bread that I made the ice cream sandwich for dinner (instead of waiting until breakfast).   I started thinking it would go really well with Prosecco.  I don’t drink but for some reason I instinctively knew they’d be a marriage made in heaven.  Oddly enough, I had a little bottle of Prosecco in my refrigerator.  It was from the time my boss decided to have “Speed Dating” events at the bakery.  To make a long story short, my boss asked me to be the bait (in her Speed Date advertisements) to lure men into the store.  It wasn’t prostitution!  It was more of a smoke and mirrors game.  At that time, the business wasn’t doing well, and my boss wanted to acquire new customers any way she could.  She used to say: “A savvy woman must appreciate/understand and accept upselling!”  I wasn’t insulted.  I found it quite funny because the men thought they were getting one thing but instead each one ended up purchasing boxes of short bread cookies!  As a “Thank you” my boss gave me the little bottle of Prosecco.

It was still relatively early; so I decided to bake short bread cookies.  I made the dough; put it in the refrigerator to chill and fell asleep in front of the TV.  I was ripped from sweet slumber by the yowling screams of cats fighting outside.  I didn’t want my neighbors complaining (about the noisy cats) so I went outside to feed them.

“Butter Shortbread Cookie Dough” recipe is from Ming Tsai’s book, Simply Ming.
http://www.ming.com

 

cookies-by-akuokuo-vallis