Dear Diary,

That yowling noise/scream was from Marie Belle (she’s clearly in heat).  There’s nothing worse than seeing a cat like that.  After I successfully chased away the male cats, I called Marie Belle for her dinner.  But, she continued to writhe about on the ground, and when I tried to console her, she scratched me!  Then she refused to eat the meal I had made specifically for her…

Anyway, I wondered about the job offer from the Mayor’s wife.  Maybe she needs a private chef?  Maybe she wants cooking lessons?  Maybe she knows someone who needs those things?  Truthfully, my boss has not been the easiest person to work for!  I could definitely see myself doing something else…  But what?  I have no computer skills.  I work early hours and mostly alone.  I’m quiet and keep my thoughts/recipes to myself.  I have no criminal history…

The next morning, the Mayor’s wife came into the bakery.  I had forgotten all about her job offer because I had been cleaning  and recalibrating the oven after a baking catastrophe!  She handed me a large package and said, “Be there by 8 pm.”  She pointed to an address on the package and whispered, “Don’t tell anyone about any of this.”

 

