Dear Diary,

My boss sent another text just as I arrived at her house.  It read:  “The Mayor’s wife ordered a chocolate zucchini bread.  She’ll pick it up around 9:15 am.  I left a credit card on my kitchen counter.  Shop for needed supplies and get yourself something appropriate (not too expensive) for being so kind, gentle and forgiving with Ancel and Axel.”  I replied, “Absolutely.”  Then I remembered the Mayor’s wife’s box!  But, at that moment, I needed to steady myself for Ancel and Axel.  There was no room for distraction!

Ancel and Axel live in the basement.  They have a unique, highly stylized home with an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna!  Unlike wild gorillas, Ancel and Axel tend to sleep in late.  I crept down the basement steps; found the freezer and removed two large bins of frozen food.   I carefully opened the bins and pushed them in front of their respective bedrooms.  Everything was going well until my phone rang.  I tried to mute it but it was too late.

I’ve learned to recognize gorilla vocalizations…  Ancel and Axel do not like being disturbed.  In fact, my boss has a “Do not disturb” sign prominently displayed on the basement door.  Their roars sent a shiver up my spine!  Needless to say, I ran as fast as I could up the basement steps.  Thankfully, I had the wherewithal to slide the credit card off the counter; secure the alarm, and lock the door.

I looked at my phone.  Since I didn’t recognize the number, I deleted it.  Then I brushed myself off and went to the store!

shopping-by-akwelle-vallis

