Dear Diary,

I was up and ready for the day at 4:00 am.  I had leftover savory bread pudding and hot chocolate for breakfast…

When I got to work; I found a note from my boss.  It said: “There was a mix up on the flour order.  I can’t send it back… Figure out a yummy, cost effective way to use it, and I’ll give you another day off.  Maybe next week?  My seminar was such an historic success I’ve decided to have a Part II: ‘The spicy  postnup– Simple negotiation strategies every savvy (married) woman should know!'”  Sounded interesting but I was way more excited about the flour mix up!  It was an opportunity to try something new.  Also, I wanted another day off…

I walked into the kitchen and found 100 pounds of Cassava flour.  I googled cassava flour recipes and got to work.  First up: a yeasty wheat flour like sandwich bread.  On Fridays, my boss prefers to have ready made sandwiches available for the grab n’ go customer…  Next up: tortillas.  In addition to regular sandwiches, my boss likes to offer wraps filled with grilled chicken.  Before I knew it, I had made: brownies; cookies; waffles; pizza dough; crepes; a tempura batter, and pancakes!

I was so preoccupied with the wonders of cassava flour that I didn’t even notice the time.  Anyway, it was 1:00 pm when “Cleopatra” ran into the kitchen.  She said, “Guess what?”  I responded, “Chicken butt.”  She said, “Haha.  I’m serious.  Guess what?”  I couldn’t think; so I said, “Please, just tell me.  My brain is all about cassava flour right now.”   She suggested I sit down.  Then she said, “The Mayor’s wife was arrested!  Turns out, she’s been importing endangered species.  She was caught in a sting operation at that rich man’s place.  And, he’s really an FBI agent!!!!”  I covered my mouth in horror.  I thought about the Mayor’s wife’s box.  Then I wondered what was inside that box that got away…

Cassava flour recipes from: Otto’s naturals– “The Next Generation In Grain-Free Baking”
http://www.ottosnaturals.com
